THE VOID

I’m a sucker for sunsets. Because of Tofino’s geographic situation, there isn’t any land to the west of us. Creating a beautiful canvas for nature to paint upon.

I have a theory about people and sunsets.

As a species, we learned a long time ago that the day was “good” and the night was “bad”. Our eyesight wasn’t designed for night vision. A predator could prey upon you If you went walking around at night in the forest.

So we had it branded into our DNA that we need sunlight to survive. Our ancestral DNA recorded this collective common experience.

Over the years I have observed an interesting behaviour here in Tofino, which I also suspect happens on all the beaches on the Earth. When the sun is just about to slip into the darkness, our ancestral DNA kicks in. It reminds us of the coming darkness and how we must seek shelter for the night.

I have seen many people on the beach stop walking and just stare! Everybody stops walking and stares.

In the setting sun we remember our past.

To record this video, I simply walked out front of my apartment and sent the drone straight up. Makes it really easy!

47 thoughts on “THE VOID

  1. Staring at a sunset is a beautiful feeling. It makes me remember the day, makes me smile, tells me to remember all the good. That’s what a sunset does for me.

  2. I sure enjoyed this serene video, Wayne, and the sun setting over this incredible view. Wow, what a terrific view you get to enjoy everyday. Cheers to you.

Leave a comment