MOON LAUNCH

20170802-IMG_8406

20170802-IMG_8407

20170802-IMG_8410

20170802-IMG_8412

20170802-IMG_8413

British Columbia is in the midst of 130 active forest fires at the moment with no relief in sight!

The intense heat makes huge thermal plumbs.Finer particulate rises but the heavier particles sink.The heavier particles act like water.They flow down valleys to the ocean.We are under outflow conditions right now.The wind normal moves from the west to the east.In “Outflow” conditions the wind direction reverses.So we (Vancouver island) are not only getting all that smoke haze but also hotter air from the interior!

I’ve been watching as the haze has migrated to the west coast.I always love these conditions photographically!

Btw,I’m not saying forest fires are good,just the affect of them on the suns colour.

All this suspended particulate matter blocks the weaker wavelengths from getting through our atmosphere to our eye.Only the longer more powerful wavelengths can make it through. “R.O.Y.”  Red,Orange & Yellow. Thats why the suns colour changes.

The outflow forest fire haze will thicken in the days to come,shifting the suns colour towards pinkish/orange!

17 thoughts on “MOON LAUNCH

    • thank you.I know this eagle well enough that I knew he’d jump If I stopped near him.So I just placed myself in the right spot & waited.I didn’t have to wait for long.Eagles can be a skittish lot.

    • lucky shots actually.I saw them both (Tim & Tam) on my way out of the harbour & hoped they’d be around by the time I came back………but only one was.I tried to get a shot of him with the fire sun in behind but the angle was off.The tree blocked his outline from that angle.

Leave a Reply

