CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE ORCA KIND

20130622-IMG_6592

20130622-IMG_6594

20130622-IMG_6601

20130622-IMG_6633

20130622-IMG_6635

20130622-IMG_6642

This was originally shot on June 23rd,2013.
A small pod of Orca’s came into Tofino inlet looking for a snack.
Whenever a pod comes into a area,they make their presence known by announcing themselves.They make certain sounds that are very recognizable to all listening! Everyone in the neighbourhood knows exactly who they are & what they want! So everyone swims away & hides.Usually in beds of seaweed.
Once the pod announces themselves,they fall silent.They move into each bay checking the seaweed beds for hiding prey.Once supper is found,it’ll try to make a run for it.Sometimes they get away……..& sometimes they do not.
This video shows the pod catching & killing a harbour seal in Rankin cove. Watch for a few of the blows to turn from white to a weak red colour!
After making the kill,the large male decides to come over to me for a visit.
He catches me off guard.I had my large lens on & needed my smaller one.You can hear me cursing when I realized that.

I think I know why he came over to check me out btw.I wear a pair of large headphones.I like listening to my music.I took it off & placed it on the hard floor of my boat.I left the music playing.I suspect he heard the music playing & came over to find out what it was?
When he surfaced directly in front of me,he slowly rolled over onto his left side & glided slowly under my boat.I’ll always remember that large questioning eye looking up at me!
The video is 33 minutes long.I wear the Go Pro on my head so that my hands are free.

I apologize for not editing the video to make it shorter.This is the raw footage.
I would suggest going ahead to the 23 minute mark.Thats when we arrived in Rankin cove & the fun begins.

36 thoughts on “CLOSE ENCOUNTERS OF THE ORCA KIND

  1. Appropriately named title of your post for a once in a lifetime Orca “meet and greet” thrilling experience! The whale did seem insistent on introducing himself to you, beyond the missed lenses change, you were definitely in a precarious situation to be certain! Thankfully he just swam over to say hello. Be safe out there and thanks for the powerfully sensational video!

  2. Maybe carry another camera in the boat for closeups? That must have been a frightening few moments for you on top of not being able to photograph what was happening. If it was the music that attracted him, maybe try it again? Or not. Just be safe out there.

    • Whenever I go out by myself into the wilds of Tofino,It is dangerous.Being around Orca’s was exciting & never dangerous.If I had dove into the water in front of him,he would of most likely just circled around me to check me out. They do not mean harm,which is why he turned onto his left side…….so that his tall dorsal fin would not hit my boat.They are very mindful creatures Marilyn.
      & yes,I do now carry a second camera with a shorter focal length lens on it.

      • Glad you were not in danger being around the Orcas. And also glad you carry a second camera now to capture more of nature’s amazing moments up close. I’m sure you must be taking your chances going out into the wild, but it also sounds like you are cautious and careful. All to our good fortune to see your wonderful photos.

      • I should be out at my cabin right now enjoying the wilds of Tofino but the wind is up & it’s also raining.I cancelled my trip & will wait for better weather.
        So I try to plan firstly & than after getting out take precautions accordingly.
        My life is more important to me than a picture,so I am constantly balancing.

    • To be honest I can’t remember what I was thinking exactly? It all kind of happened fast.I know what I felt like after………..scared & exhilarated in the same breath.WOuld of been interesting for someone to be close enough to video tape my reaction.I know I swore when I realized I couldn’t take anymore pictures! The minimum focus for that lens is 16 feet I believe.Once he got close I didn’t have a hope in hell in getting anymore shots.But I did have enough foresight to have the Go Pro running!
      Glad you enjoyed in Tina & thanks for popping in for a peek.

  3. A new favorite post Wayne. Loved spending time with you on the boat, next best thing to being there. I chuckled when you cursed, I understood your angst. The cove was so calm, I assume it was morning. That is quite the lens, must get heavy eh? I enjoyed the story behind the pictures and really liked the video. Best part of my morning.

Leave a Reply

