SUNSET WINDOW

20140612-20140612-img_7330

20140612-20140612-img_7338

20140612-20140612-img_7396

20140612-20140612-img_7355

There was a cloud bank blocking the sunset to the west. However, I could see a narrow slit along the very bottom of this bank.I knew the sun would explode through this gap sooner or later. All I had to to was hang around.It’s at moments like this that I talk to either Romeo or Juliette.So I went over to visit with Romeo/Juliette & waited for the show to start.

Many times I just shut the engine off & wait for the light.As long as I can see that it will shine forth,I don’t mind waiting.Gives me a chance to observe whats going on around me.It’s all because of the cloud formation.I look at the live Satellite feed before going out every time.Understanding the cloud stream is critical for my photography!

The sun did come through as I suspected & painted the landscape in a most surreal light! The clouds acted like a huge roof & the sun was coming through at the very bottom of this cloud bank.Think of venation blinds with one or two slats at the bottom taken out. Thats basically what was happening here.

The best light is horizontal & the worst is vertical.Basically,sunrise/sunset good,noon bad.

I love these moments! They only last a few minutes at best,so I’m always mindful to hurry & get the best seat for the show!

23 thoughts on “SUNSET WINDOW

    • I’d like to take credit for it but Mother Nature is the one that should take the bow Cindy.Photography is all about being at the right place at the right time.
      I’ve made up my own acronym “PET”Place,Equipment,Time. You get PET,you got a great shot!

    • One of the things I like in a picture is drama.The best tool one has for dramatic pictures is light.Basically all horizontal light is good (sunrise/sunset),while vertical light (noon) is bad.
      I usually hang around sunset waiting for the “sunset to go”? Most times it’s good but I’m always searching for excellent.This night,the light was excellent!
      Each time I go out,It’s like Mother Nature gives me a set of dice to roll.I never know whats going to happen? Most times good,sometimes excellent.I always search for golden light. I was lucky on this night.
      thank you for commenting!

Leave a Reply

