WALTER’S CLOSE UP

20170103-2z6a7759

20170103-2z6a7778

20170103-2z6a7779

20170103-2z6a7777

I went down Tofino inlet today….or I should say “tried” to.I wanted to check on the ice cover? We are in what is called “Outflow Conditions” right now.Which means cold winds from the NE.Tofino inlet is roughly NE,so the winds come straight down the inlet pick up speed & produce large fetch.I could see the caps at a distance.Tried to sneak up the west side using islands as protection but that only worked for a few miles.The waves finally made me turn back. Went into Gunner inlet to rest.Found a nice thick ice sheet in there as well.I bet I could of walked on it at the far end!

I bet Tranquil & Tofino inlet from Barryman point is completely frozen over! I’d love to get up in a plane & get shots of it!

I left Gunner & headed back to town.I stopped to visit with Maggie but she wasn’t around? She must have a place to hide from that NE wind & couldn’t see me? I moved on to Romeo & Juliette.Romeo flew out to greet me right away & Juliette joined him seconds later as well! The light was excellent! No clouds to the west.It’s mating season so they stick together.They both came over to their throne several times.Talked with them,took some great shots & left.

It was a cold day out there today but I was warm! Had a great shoot!

2 thoughts on “WALTER’S CLOSE UP

Leave a Reply

