COMMON MERGANSERS

20160921-2z6a1168

20160921-2z6a1178

Went down to Grice bay today.Grice bay is several miles east of Tofino.It’s a large shallow bay.So shallow that it almost empties at low tide. You can only get down here at high tide.This fact basically keeps this place free of human activity. I’ve found animals use to boat traffic will tolerate intrusions,but the ones that don’t see very many boats tend to be a skittish group.

These Mergansers took off almost instantly upon my arrival.As well as two eagles.

If I find a good spot for photography,I’ll keep coming back.This introduces me to the locals & they  accept me soon enough.Grice is a poor place to practice this for me.I only go out to shoot three hours before sunset.The statistical odds that I’d have a high tide happening during that period is slim. So I drop in from time to time to see whats going on? The Trumpeters also like to Winter down there.

5 thoughts on “COMMON MERGANSERS

    • thanks Dave.THey were a skittish group.Nobody ever goes down to this area. Grice bay empties at low tide,so one can only get down there at high tide.I’ve also found the bears far more sensitive to company as well.

Leave a Reply

